BARC SEC Photo of the day


BOSS Racing Ad

Gent ends Birley's ten-race winning run

By Brian Phillips

QMN Dale Gent ended Rod Birley's 2013 winning run in the 11th race of this year's Quaife/Motorsport News Saloon Car Championship on a wet and slippery Brands Hatch GP circuit on Saturday August 24. Gent in his Subaru Impreza forced an opening to pass the quick-starting Birley Escort after less than half a lap and pulled nearly six seconds clear. Malcolm Wise had a lonely drive when he wasn't lapping backmarker traffic in his Escort, but took a clear third place ahead of Ian Butler's Focus.

The best action was in a fifth place battle featuring the BMW of Ricky Davies, Steve Rothery's Clio and the Megane Coupe of Andy Woods-Dean. Butler and this trio all won their classes and "Woody" kept his 100% record to extend his narrow points lead over Birley in the title chase.

TinTops The Cannons Motorspares Tin Tops ran with the QMN cars and Cliff Pellin excelled in the wet, heading the less modified Tin Tops in 13th overall with his Fiesta. Terry Searles (MG ZR) and Chris Whiteman (Honda Civic) were next among the Tin Tops, all three racing in the same class. Other class winners were Tom Bridger (Rover 220), Robert Taylor (Fiesta), Russell Turner (Escort) and Peter Osborne (Clio).

A capacity 44-car field set off in the most challenging of conditions but there were only four retirements. Berni Baxter and Vic Hope had mechanical problems while Danny Innes parked his Seat in the Paddock gravel trap after surviving an earlier incident at the same corner. Bob Hosier was out within seconds, a victim of the overcrowded dash up to Druids on lap one.

Watch this space for more details after the second half of the Bank Holiday double-header.

Next Race Meeting:

See you in 2019

Latest Galleries:

Latest gallery BARC SEC TinTop Championship,
17th November 2018

Latest gallery BARC SEC Modified Saloon Car and TinTop Championship,
22nd September 2018

Latest gallery Scrapco Avon Intermarque Championship,
22nd September 2018

Last Race Results

Modified Saloon Car:

1. Rod Birley
2. Steve Rothery
3. Malcolm Wise
See full results


1. Kamran Tunio
2. Kevin Palmer
3. Steve Everson
See full results


1. Steve Burrows
2. CHris Brockhurst
3. Lewis Smith
See full results

2018 Championship Winners (Provisional):

BARC SEC Modified Saloon Car:

Adrian Bradley
See full standings


Rikki Taylor
See full standings

Scrapco / Avon Intermarque:

Lewis Smith
See full standings