BARC SEC Photo of the day


BOSS Racing Ad

Scrapco / Avon Intermarque Championship race report,
Brands Hatch, 26th March 2016

By Adam Grant
Photos: Rafal Biniszewski

Intermarque The good news was seeing 21 cars take to the track for qualifying, which is the best number for over a year. Ian Hales has bought Matt Simpson’s car, whilst Phil Blackford, Paul Adams and Keith White all returned.

Qualifying took place on a drying track, which caught out one or two fancied runners. Those who had access to slick tyres made good use of them in the final few minutes. In the end last year’s champion Malcolm Blackman secured pole position with Lewis Smith alongside. Row two saw two senior drivers, namely Keith White and Mike Thurley, whilst row three saw Reuben Taylor in his sinister looking black Peugeot joined by Chris Ayling. Daniel and Richard Smith occupied row four, with Chris Brockhurst languishing a bit in ninth. Malcolm Harding completed the top ten.

The rolling start was very orderly as Lewis Smith snatched the lead initially. By lap two Blackman had found a way past and from there on he was never headed. Lewis never gave up the chase and was only just over a second behind at the chequered flag. Third place was the preserve of White, although he came under intense pressure from Brockhurst once he made his way up from ninth spot. Keith just held on by 0.2 of a second. Thurley was fourth in the early stages, until he pulled off coming out of Druids on lap six. At the same time Paul Adams stopped in the middle of the track at the bottom of Paddock Bend. This prompted the safety car to intervene whilst the errant cars were removed.

Intermarque Richard Smith was now up to fifth, but defending hard against Harding and Ayling. Simon Smith and Daniel Smith latched onto this group, to make it a five way fight. In the end Harding usurped Richard Smith, whilst Simon Smith squeezed past Ayling. Completing the top ten was Philip Young in his venerable Mitsubishi, which still goes very well. Steve Burrows, Reuben Taylor and Mark Fuller were the next group home, followed by Hales, Lee Griffiths and Blackford. The reverse grid draw saw Daniel Smith promoted to pole position. Race two saw everyone venture out on slick tyres, just as the rain began to fall. With David Brooks non-starting and Ricky Hunn retiring immediately, everyone else coped remarkably well in the tricky conditions. One or two did have off course excursions, and when Mark Fuller was stranded in an awkward position the safety car joined in. Somehow Chris Brockhurst had wriggled through into the lead by the end of the first lap. On the re-start he maintained his pace even though both Lewis Smith and Blackman kept him very honest. A very impressive Harding made his way up to fourth and with it came the senior class victory. This left Richard Smith defending fifth position from his eldest son Daniel. White was a bit subdued in seventh and he nearly had Steve Burrows for company by the end. Thurley and Taylor completed the top ten.

The four Avon tyre winners were Daniel Smith, Mike Thurley, Lee Griffiths and the ever smiling Mr. Cheese (Philip Young).

Next Race Meeting:

See you in 2019

Latest Galleries:

Latest gallery BARC SEC TinTop Championship,
17th November 2018

Latest gallery BARC SEC Modified Saloon Car and TinTop Championship,
22nd September 2018

Latest gallery Scrapco Avon Intermarque Championship,
22nd September 2018

Last Race Results

Modified Saloon Car:

1. Rod Birley
2. Steve Rothery
3. Malcolm Wise
See full results


1. Kamran Tunio
2. Kevin Palmer
3. Steve Everson
See full results


1. Steve Burrows
2. CHris Brockhurst
3. Lewis Smith
See full results

2018 Championship Winners (Provisional):

BARC SEC Modified Saloon Car:

Adrian Bradley
See full standings


Rikki Taylor
See full standings

Scrapco / Avon Intermarque:

Lewis Smith
See full standings