BARC SEC Photo of the day


BOSS Racing Ad

Sevenesque and Intermarque Race Report from Donington

By Rod Birley
Photos: Rafal Biniszewski

Sevenesque The sevenesque sports car series opened proceedings on Saturday, and they were joined by some of the drivers from the Armed Forces challenge. The first race had challenging conditions as a shower of rain passed through during the event, catching out some of the front runners. In the end Tony Bennett steered his Caterham to another victory, followed by Darren Berris in his Westfield V8. Christian Pittard recovered to take third from Trevor Clarke and Peter Hargroves. Dave Charlton rooted his wet tyres, but took sixth from Steward Ross-Cumming in a Ford Focus.

Sevenesque The second race was a real cracker. The dry track saw a tremendous race long dice between Bennett and Pittard, with Christian just snatching the win by a very small margin. He also took the driver of the day award, whilst Charlton won best prepared car.

Intermarque The Quaife Intermarques took to the track on Sunday, with Matt Simpson in dominant form. Matt secured pole position and easily won the first race, especially after Chris Brockhurst ran wide at Redgate. Chris got his head down and tigered back from ninth to second, slipping past Lewis Smith in the closing stages. Chris Ayling was on top in the senior cup, but the runner up spot featured a strong battle until Malcolm Harding claimed the position.

Intermarque Barry Lee performed the grid draw for race two and pulled out number 9, this meant Mark Fuller had pole position. Lewis Smith wriggled through to take the lead by the end of lap one, but Simpson soon hunted him down and went ahead on lap three. Lewis hung onto second this time and earnt the driver of the day award, with Malcolm Blackman completing the podium. Ray Harris won best prepared car, as Chris Ayling topped the seniors again with Mike Thurley gaining the runner up spot. The four Avon tyre award winners were John Steward, Ricky Hunn, Philip Young and Danny Russell.

All four races will be shown on Motors TV as part of the “Last Lap” program on September 10th. The exact broadcast times will be announced soon. If anybody has some in car footage could they contact Barry Welch on or Rod Birley as soon as possible.

Next Race Meeting:

See you in 2019

Latest Galleries:

Latest gallery BARC SEC TinTop Championship,
17th November 2018

Latest gallery BARC SEC Modified Saloon Car and TinTop Championship,
22nd September 2018

Latest gallery Scrapco Avon Intermarque Championship,
22nd September 2018

Last Race Results

Modified Saloon Car:

1. Rod Birley
2. Steve Rothery
3. Malcolm Wise
See full results


1. Kamran Tunio
2. Kevin Palmer
3. Steve Everson
See full results


1. Steve Burrows
2. CHris Brockhurst
3. Lewis Smith
See full results

2018 Championship Winners (Provisional):

BARC SEC Modified Saloon Car:

Adrian Bradley
See full standings


Rikki Taylor
See full standings

Scrapco / Avon Intermarque:

Lewis Smith
See full standings