BARC SEC Photo of the day


BOSS Racing Ad

Scrapco / Avon Intermarque Championship
with Sevenesque Sport Car Series race report,
Mallory Park, 29th May 2016

By Howard Smith
Photos: Rafal Biniszewski

Intermarque A dull and overcast sky welcomed the Intermarque and Sevenesque competitors to Mallory Park on Sunday 29th May.

The Intermarque Championship had their qualifying session first and this saw Lewis Smith secure pole position with Malcolm Blackman sharing the front of the grid by just 0.569. These were closely followed by Chris Brockhurst and Simon Smith taking third and fourth places on the grid. Unfortunately both Ricky Hunn and John Steward suffered serious mechanical problems and were unable to participate in either of Intermarque races.

Intermarque The Intermarque race one saw an incident at Gerrads on the opening lap, which resulted in several cars suffering damage including the pole sitter Lewis Smith, Daniel Smith and Chris Ayling, which led to all three having to retire. Brian Loram suffered mechanical problem and retired on lap 3. Three other drivers failed to finish and on lap 12 Philip Blackford, Lee Griffiths and Mike Robertson all retired. Although chased by Chris Brockhurst, Malcolm Blackman took full advantage of the situation and he was never in danger of beginning caught and won the race by over 4 seconds from Chris. A battle developed between Mike Thurley and Steve Burrows with Mike just securing third place by 0.193 at the chequered flag.

Intermarque The second Intermarque race with the reversed grid, which should have seen Richard Smith on pole, but unfortunately Richard suffered an engine fire whilst leaving parc ferme after the first race and he was unable to take part in the second race. This meant pole position was taken by Ian Hales with Reuben Taylor sharing the front of the grid. Malcolm Blackman, who soon worked his way through the field and was chased and harried by Lewis Smith, until Lewis suffered mechanical problems on lap 16, which forced him to retire, allowing Malcolm to take his second win of the day followed home by Simon Smith in second place with Reuben Taylor third. Chris Brockhurst retired on lap one with Chris Ayling, Brian Loram retiring on lap 13 and Mike Robertson on lap 14.

Sevenesque Qualifying for the Sevenesque Sports Series saw Anthony Bennett in his Caterham R3000 secure pole position by 0.111 of a second from David Tilley in his Hart Sports. It was David Tilley who raced into the lead and held it to the chequered flag with Anthony Bennett securing second place and Robert Grant third. Unfortunately David Tilley could not take part in the second race due him being unable to resolve the noise issue he had with car, which he could not cure. The second race was won by Anthony Bennett with Robert Singleton and Robert Grant taking second and third places respectively.

Next Race Meeting:

See you in 2019

Latest Galleries:

Latest gallery BARC SEC TinTop Championship,
17th November 2018

Latest gallery BARC SEC Modified Saloon Car and TinTop Championship,
22nd September 2018

Latest gallery Scrapco Avon Intermarque Championship,
22nd September 2018

Last Race Results

Modified Saloon Car:

1. Rod Birley
2. Steve Rothery
3. Malcolm Wise
See full results


1. Kamran Tunio
2. Kevin Palmer
3. Steve Everson
See full results


1. Steve Burrows
2. CHris Brockhurst
3. Lewis Smith
See full results

2018 Championship Winners (Provisional):

BARC SEC Modified Saloon Car:

Adrian Bradley
See full standings


Rikki Taylor
See full standings

Scrapco / Avon Intermarque:

Lewis Smith
See full standings