BARC SEC Photo of the day


BOSS Racing Ad

Meeting Round Up, Brands Hatch, 12th-13th May 2018

By Adam Grant
Photos: Andrew Mason

TinTop The Tin tops kicked off proceedings at Brands Hatch on May 12th. Race one was barely a couple of laps old when reigning champion Dan Fisher plunged off at Paddock Bend and rolled his Honda Civic. Following a safety car period Danny Brooker assumed the lead and just held off Rikki Taylor. This was Danny’s first outright win, so congratulations to him.

Race two again took place on a slippery track, with Brooker holding sway until another safety car period to remove Adrian Matthew’s stranded Ford Puma at Druids. The re-start saw Taylor exert pressure on Brooker, until he found a way through at Paddock bend. The championship leader then went on to score his first outright win. With Danny Brooker second, Graham Heard came through to claim third position. Bradley Lane took a brace of T2 victories with Terry Waller winning TP.

Modified Saloon Car The modified saloons were first out on Sunday morning. Rod Birley claimed pole position in his re-built Ford Escort WRC. Malcolm Wise lined up alongside and these two fought out a close race one. A safety car period to rescue Mark Cripps stricken BMW, gave Birley a brief respite, but Wise was only a second adrift at the chequered flag.

The second race saw Birley take off in the lead, but on lap three he slowed on Cooper Straight. A quick re-set of the ECU saw him resume in 8th. He charged back up to fourth only for the same problem to occur again. This time he lost over a lap, but he did manage to limp home 9th. Meanwhile Wise came under a bit of pressure from Tony Skelton who had worked hard to get away from the nimble Mk.2 Ford Escort of Neil Jessop. In the end Wise held sway, with Adrian Bradley continuing his unbeaten run in class C.

Intermarque The best racing came in the Scrapco/Avon tyres intermarque championship. A healthy grid of 24 cars made a spectacular and colourful sight. As usual Malcolm Blackman battled with Lewis Smith in both races. In the first encounter Smith actually got into the lead and appeared to be en route to a rare Brands Hatch victory. However, an electrical gremlin intervened which spelt instant retirement. This left Blackman to take his customary win, with Steve Burrows a fairly distant second. Reuben Taylor was an impressive third, followed by Ray Harris and senior cup winner Chris Ayling.

Race two saw the first ten finishers inverted on the grid. Ian Hales from pole position made good his escape, whilst Blackman picked his way through the traffic. An impressive charge by Lewis Smith soon saw him up behind Blackman. Once they moved into first and second there was barely a couple of inches between them. Such was their pace that they soon dropped Hales, who nevertheless still held onto his deserved podium slot.

Blackman just held off Smith, despite an ambitious last lap move. With Hales third, it was Keith White who came through to take fourth and best of the seniors. Mike Thurley had a good run from the rear of the grid to claim fifth, from Reuben Taylor. Paul Knight replicated his 7th spot in the first race, from a slightly subdued Burrows. Next up were the Hunn boys Danny and Jason. The Avon tyre winners were Ray Harris, Phil Spinks (with a nice new Vauxhall Tigra), Philip Young, and Steve Dudman With more new cars and new drivers promised, it certainly looks like the Intermarque will be the formula to watch this year.

Next Race Meeting:

See you in 2019

Latest Galleries:

Latest gallery BARC SEC TinTop Championship,
17th November 2018

Latest gallery BARC SEC Modified Saloon Car and TinTop Championship,
22nd September 2018

Latest gallery Scrapco Avon Intermarque Championship,
22nd September 2018

Last Race Results

Modified Saloon Car:

1. Rod Birley
2. Steve Rothery
3. Malcolm Wise
See full results


1. Kamran Tunio
2. Kevin Palmer
3. Steve Everson
See full results


1. Steve Burrows
2. CHris Brockhurst
3. Lewis Smith
See full results

2018 Championship Winners (Provisional):

BARC SEC Modified Saloon Car:

Adrian Bradley
See full standings


Rikki Taylor
See full standings

Scrapco / Avon Intermarque:

Lewis Smith
See full standings