BARC SEC Photo of the day


BOSS Racing Ad

Lydden Hill meeting report

By Adam Grant
Photos: Ben Harris

TinTop Following on from the cancellation of the August meeting, everyone was hoping that this meeting would go ahead without any glitches. The weather forecast was not promising, but nobody really expected the fog which delayed proceedings in the morning. By the time this cleared it had started drizzling, which gradually got heavier as the day progressed. Sadly the final allcomers race was cancelled, even though the cars were on the grid following two warm up laps.

TinTop The Tin Tops had their own pair of races this time, and a reasonable grid of 13 cars appeared for their first race. Bradley Lane took the lead from the start pursued by Danny Brooker, in his turbo Vauxhall Astra. Lane looked comfortable until lap five when his engine suddenly died and he coasted into retirement. Danny Brooker then inherited the lead which he held to the chequered flag. A spirited drive from Mikey Day saw him overhaul the T2 cars of Steve Everson (driving Brad Lane’s Peugeot 206) and Jamie Primett. Mikey securing second overall and T3 honours. Dominic Ryan just got the better of Alfie Brooker as new boy Kevin Palmer followed home in 7th. Dave Hutchins was a bit detached in 8th, whereas Dave Charlton had to fend off Chris Bicknell and Jon Wild. Nicholas Lunn completed the finishers a lap down.

Rikki Taylor missed the first race, as he was trying to change the engine in his Fiesta. Unfortunately he still didn’t manage to get out for race two which was a shame. With Lane also missing, it was left to Danny Brooker to lead away. However, he started to slow as his windscreen had badly fogged up. Eventually Danny pulled into the paddock to clear the screen and he re-joined two laps down. The lead battle was now between Everson and Alfie Brooker, until they came up to lap Primett. Everson dived through before the hairpin, but unfortunately Alfie collected the side of the Honda Civic. Undeterred both drivers carried on, until the BMW Mini suddenly slowed on the last lap. It did spring back into life and eventually crossed the line in sixth, amongst some confusion with the last lap board and the chequered flag.

TinTop A well-deserved second place, behind Everson, went to Kevin Palmer in only his fourth race. He also took T1 honours. Hutchins went a lot better securing third spot, with Ryan taking T3 honours in fourth. Chris Bicknell was good for fifth, with Wild improving to 7th. Day had a topsy turvy race, slowing initially with a loss of power, but then continuing in spectacular sideways style to take 8th. A subdued Primett was 9th followed by Danny Brooker and Charlton. Alfie Brooker now tops the points chart, with Ryan heading T3 and Primett T2. The Nightingale trophy will certainly be adding a new name this year.

Modified Saloon Car

The modified saloons continue to struggle to muster a reasonable grid. Yet again Steve Dann was an early casualty as his VW Golf which was soon back on it’s trailer. Rod Birley was also having more trouble with his Escort Cosworth, as it cannot shake off the gremlins that have afflicted it all year. Qualifying saw Malcolm Wise annex pole position, with David Cowan alongside. From the start Wise led initially, but Cowan soon moved into the lead, pursued by championship leader Adrian Bradley. Birley quicked moved up to fourth passing Mark Cripps and Steve Rothery. When Bradley had a slight excursion it looked like Cowan was going to win, but on the last lap Bradley somehow squeezed past to take victory. Wise slipped back in third, with Birley equally lonely in fourth. Rothery was a lap down in 5th but had the measure of Cripps, as Chris Bicknell and Martyn Scott completed the finishers three laps adrift.

Race two saw Bradley lead away but Birley was on a charge, quickly passing Wise then usurping Cowan for second spot. Wise also overtook the BMW and latched onto Birley’s tail. As these two squabbled over class A honours, it allowed the sure footed Bradley to take another win. Birley held off Wise by just half a second after a thrilling battle. Cowan dropped back, but easily held onto fourth, as Scott was the only other finisher. Both Rothery and Cripps retired, whilst Bicknell did not start.

Intermarque The intermarque had 21 cars on the entry list, but practice maladies removed Malcolm Blackman (engine), Reuben Taylor (engine), Mick Robertson (low oil pressure) and Matt Ovenden (crash). Lewis Smith took full advantage of the difficult track conditions to score two impressive wins. Steve Burrows took the runner spot in race one, with Chris Brockhurst completing the podium. Drive of the race came from under dog Colin Smith as he took 7th spot.

Intermarque Race two saw the first ten from race one inverted, but this didn’t stop Lewis taking his second win. Ray Harris battled with Richard Smith, but held onto second, with Brockhurst fourth. An impressive Danny Hunn held onto fifth following a time penalty on both Burrows and Jason Hunn for exceeding track limits. Mike Thurley took 8th, from budget racer and unsung hero Philip Young and Steve Dudman. Lewis Smith and Burrows now jointly lead the championship, as we head back to Brands Hatch at the end of October.

Next Race Meeting:

See you in 2019

Latest Galleries:

Latest gallery BARC SEC TinTop Championship,
17th November 2018

Latest gallery BARC SEC Modified Saloon Car and TinTop Championship,
22nd September 2018

Latest gallery Scrapco Avon Intermarque Championship,
22nd September 2018

Last Race Results

Modified Saloon Car:

1. Rod Birley
2. Steve Rothery
3. Malcolm Wise
See full results


1. Kamran Tunio
2. Kevin Palmer
3. Steve Everson
See full results


1. Steve Burrows
2. CHris Brockhurst
3. Lewis Smith
See full results

2018 Championship Winners (Provisional):

BARC SEC Modified Saloon Car:

Adrian Bradley
See full standings


Rikki Taylor
See full standings

Scrapco / Avon Intermarque:

Lewis Smith
See full standings