BARC SEC Photo of the day


BOSS Racing Ad

Race report, Brands Hatch 8th June 2014

By Rod Birley

Intermarque The American Speedfest 2 formed the backdrop for the latest two championship rounds. Glorious sunshine greeted the large crowd that turned up for this well promoted meeting. Qualifying saw Matt Simpson set the benchmark from championship leader Malcolm Blackman. David Brooks lined up third, with Chris Brockhurst fourth.

From the rolling start Simpson controlled the run to the first corner from a fast starting Brockhurst. These two edged clear of Blackman and Brooks as Ray Harris appeared in fifth from Simon Smith, Mike Thurley and Lewis Smith. An early casualty was Paul Adams who pulled off with a suspected ECU problem. Mick Robertson then fell by the wayside, just as Simon Smith squeezed past Harris. On the same lap nephew Lewis Smith usurped Thurley, as Richard Smith had a quick gyration at Graham Hill bend.

Intermarque Ricky Hunn had challenged Thurley initially for the senior cup lead, but gradually fell back into the clutches of returnee Chris Ayling. The No.28 car moved into the senior cup runner up spot with four laps to go. The next retirement was Philip Blackford with braking issues and a loose door, closely followed by Neil Jessop with a fuel surge fault. The normally reliable Philip Young also fell by the wayside as his oil pressure dropped. So Simpson retained his winning streak at Brands Hatch as Brockhurst came home 1.7 seconds further back. Blackman completed the podium occupiers from Brooks, Simon Smith, Lewis Smith, Harris, Thurley, Loram and Ayling. For the third meeting running no.6 was drawn out of the hat, so Lewis Smith gained pole position for race two.

Intermarque With Richard Smith sidelined due to engine issues, young Lewis borrowed his father’s differential. The rolling start saw a good formation cross the line as the red light was extinguished. The usual pushing and shoving saw some gainers and losers, but Lewis held the lead for two laps before Simpson swept by. Brooks and Brockhurst had delayed themselves with a small touch on Cooper Straight. As Simpson made his escape it looked like he had everything under control, until he literally slid off at Paddock Bend. A suspected pipe failure may have contributed to the incident. Suddenly Blackman held the lead with Simon Smith in second, after Lewis Smith retired with a suspected oil leak from a rear half shaft seal. Neil Jessop had a rather nasty fire, which was quickly dealt with by the ever efficient marshals. Neil was OK but his car looked rather sad.

Intermarque Brockhurst slipped ahead of the green BMW Z4 and quickly closed on Blackman to make the final lap a close run affair. Malcolm held on by just 0.407 of a second. Simon Smith took a well deserved third from Brooks. Thurley again grabbed the senior cup win and a fine fifth overall. Mark Fuller drove well to climb from 14th to 6th. Ross Loram was a steady seventh, enjoying a fine battle with Harris and Ayling. Harris won the driver of the day award, as his bright car certainly grabbed the attention of the commentators. Hunn rounded out the top ten after he battled early on with Steve Burrows (who won the best prepared car award). Mick Robertson hounded Burrows over the last few laps and even briefly sneaked ahead on the final lap, only to be beaten on the run to the flag. Mr. Consistant John Steward racked up more points, as he completed the finishers.

For the record cars 1, 67, 89 and 91 all had their choke sizes measured and were all deemed legal. Fuel samples were taken from some cars for further analysis.

The four Avon tyre award winners were Lewis Smith, Mark Fuller, Simon Smith and Philip Blackford.

Next Race Meeting:

See you in 2019

Latest Galleries:

Latest gallery BARC SEC TinTop Championship,
17th November 2018

Latest gallery BARC SEC Modified Saloon Car and TinTop Championship,
22nd September 2018

Latest gallery Scrapco Avon Intermarque Championship,
22nd September 2018

Last Race Results

Modified Saloon Car:

1. Rod Birley
2. Steve Rothery
3. Malcolm Wise
See full results


1. Kamran Tunio
2. Kevin Palmer
3. Steve Everson
See full results


1. Steve Burrows
2. CHris Brockhurst
3. Lewis Smith
See full results

2018 Championship Winners (Provisional):

BARC SEC Modified Saloon Car:

Adrian Bradley
See full standings


Rikki Taylor
See full standings

Scrapco / Avon Intermarque:

Lewis Smith
See full standings