BARC SEC Photo of the day


BOSS Racing Ad

Avon Intermarque race report,
Brands Hatch, 27th September 2015

By Rod Birley

Intermarque The Avon Tyres intermarque returned to Brands Hatch for rounds 13 and 14 of their championship. This meeting was in place of the cancelled trip to Lydden Hill on October 3rd.

Qualifying saw Malcolm Blackman secure pole position with a time of 49.249 seconds. Lewis Smith lined up second with the only other time below 50 seconds, as he posted a 49.952. Ricky Hunn stunned everyone with his effort, which put him third on the grid just in front of championship title contender Chris Brockhurst. Chris Ayling should have been fifth, but an engine oil pump problem meant he had to withdraw. Mike Thurley was sixth, from Steve Burrows, Richard Smith, David Brooks and Daniel Smith completing the top ten. Welcome returnee, and senior cup sponsor Malcolm Harding lined up 11th, Philip Young was 12th with Lee Griffiths, Mark Fuller, Brian Loram and John Steward (in Ricky Hunn’s Peugeot 205) completing the grid.

Intermarque The first race saw Blackman head the field into Paddock Bend and control the pace sensibly. Lewis Smith slotted into second, Brockhurst slipped past Hunn into third whilst the rest of the pack had the usual first lap jostling. The first casualty was Fuller, who pulled off at Druids, then Brooks had a moment going through the Clearways gravel trap. Brian Loram was a pit visitor and subsequent retiree on lap 11. Attention now focused on the battling group of Harding, Daniel Smith and the recovering Brooks. Opinions obviously vary but suffice to say it all got a little bit close with this trio and subsequently Brooks was excluded, as Daniel Smith pulled off with broken suspension. Meanwhile Blackman continued to lead and set the fastest lap at 49.511 seconds just as Brockhurst suddenly pulled off with an unusual noise coming from the Vauxhall engine. Hunn therefore re-took third position and he also took the senior cup win. Burrows was fairly lonely in fourth, whilst Thurley held off a late charge from Richard Smith. Harding, Griffiths, Taylor, Young and Steward completed the finishers.

Intermarque The grid for race two saw No.9 drawn by the commentator Matt Suckling. Therefore Reuben Taylor started from pole position and he made a sensible start controlling the pace well. Surging through from row four was Lewis Smith in close pursuit of his father Richard. At the end of lap one Griffiths led, with the two Smiths side by side for second. By Druids Lewis had the lead, with Richard moving into second. Burrows was swiftly up to third with Griffiths clinging on to fourth, just in front of Blackman, Hunn, Taylor and Harding. Brian Loram had a lurid excursion going through Surtees which meant he was the first retirement.

Intermarque As Lewis Smith extended his lead Blackman took a little time to reach second position. Richard Smith still held third as Burrows and Hunn squabbled over fourth. Ricky made the decisive move going into Druids on lap ten and set off after Smith senior. However, the yellow Corrado trickled into the pits on lap 13 as a panhard rod had broken. The lead battle never really materialised as although Blackman gradually edged closer he slowed quite dramatically on the final lap. It turned out that nothing was amiss as he realised the championship was his due to Brockhurst non-starting. Richard Smith was a delighted third as well as the senior cup winner. Burrows secured fourth again, with Harding a good fifth. Daniel Smith and Mike Thurley had a very entertaining battle which just went to the Corrado driver by 0.001 of a second. Griffiths was 8th and also received the best prepared car award, as he just held off Mark Fuller. Taylor completed the top ten as he battled with Steward and Young, Reuben received the driver of the day award.

The Avon tyre winners were John Steward, Lewis Smith, Malcolm Blackman and Daniel Smith. Blackman is provisionally the 2015 champion (subject to official confirmation), with Thurley retaining the Creative Contruction Services senior cup crown.

Next Race Meeting:

See you in 2019

Latest Galleries:

Latest gallery BARC SEC TinTop Championship,
17th November 2018

Latest gallery BARC SEC Modified Saloon Car and TinTop Championship,
22nd September 2018

Latest gallery Scrapco Avon Intermarque Championship,
22nd September 2018

Last Race Results

Modified Saloon Car:

1. Rod Birley
2. Steve Rothery
3. Malcolm Wise
See full results


1. Kamran Tunio
2. Kevin Palmer
3. Steve Everson
See full results


1. Steve Burrows
2. CHris Brockhurst
3. Lewis Smith
See full results

2018 Championship Winners (Provisional):

BARC SEC Modified Saloon Car:

Adrian Bradley
See full standings


Rikki Taylor
See full standings

Scrapco / Avon Intermarque:

Lewis Smith
See full standings