BARC SEC Photo of the day


BOSS Racing Ad

Sevenesque race report, Mallory Park, 23rd May 2015

By Rod Birley

Sevenesque The Sevenesque series had a rather late start this year, but nevertheless ten intrepid drivers gathered at Mallory Park for two fifteen minute races. Qualifying saw the Boss Racing duo of Rob Singleton and Colin Watson vying for pole position, until Rob had an unfortunate off going into Gerrards corner. The damp grass caused the Caterham to slide further off the track than expected with resultant tyre wall contact. This sidelined Rob for the rest of the day. Watson secured pole position but only by 0.054 of a second from Tony Bennett. Ian Conibear was an equally close 0.100 of a second back in third.

Sevenesque From the start Conibear snatched the lead and held off a very determined Watson until lap four. Watson drew alongside going down Stebbe Straight, but somehow Conibear just stayed ahead. However, on lap seven the Boss man made the move stick. Despite constant pressure from Ian, Colin held on for the win by just 0.404 of a second. Tony Bennett ran a couple of seconds further back in third, and even set the fastest race lap in 48.426 seconds, a speed of 100.35 mph. Carl Nairn just held off Alistair Heys’s Westfield by 0.135 of a second, with John Chasey just over a second further back. Likewise Peter Hargroves had a mere four tenths of a second in hand from Mark Leybourne and Billy Nairn.

Sevenesque The second race saw Conibear again getaway first, with Watson tucking in behind. Sadly Tony Bennett broke a halfshaft and retired immediately, so it was down to the first two to see who would triumph. Watson did manage one short spell in the lead, when he outbraked Conibear at the Hairpin, but Ian slipped back past on the run through Devils Elbow. From there on he held onto the lead tenaciously, taking the chequered flag by 2.2 seconds. Carl Nairn secured third position, but again Heys was right in his wheeltracks, the gap just 0.2 of a second. Hargroves upped his pace to take fifth, with Chasey sixth. Billy Nairn held off Leybourne for seventh. Despite the small entry the racing was very exciting, with several close battles. Rob Singleton received a consolation bottle of bubbly for his practice misdemeanour. The series reconvenes at Lydden Hill on Saturday June 20th.

Next Race Meeting:

See you in 2019

Latest Galleries:

Latest gallery BARC SEC TinTop Championship,
17th November 2018

Latest gallery BARC SEC Modified Saloon Car and TinTop Championship,
22nd September 2018

Latest gallery Scrapco Avon Intermarque Championship,
22nd September 2018

Last Race Results

Modified Saloon Car:

1. Rod Birley
2. Steve Rothery
3. Malcolm Wise
See full results


1. Kamran Tunio
2. Kevin Palmer
3. Steve Everson
See full results


1. Steve Burrows
2. CHris Brockhurst
3. Lewis Smith
See full results

2018 Championship Winners (Provisional):

BARC SEC Modified Saloon Car:

Adrian Bradley
See full standings


Rikki Taylor
See full standings

Scrapco / Avon Intermarque:

Lewis Smith
See full standings