BARC SEC Photo of the day


BOSS Racing Ad

Dramatic start to QMN and Tin Tops Championships.

By Brian Phillips

QMN The Centre's 2013 saloon car championships enjoyed a spectacular opening race at Brands Hatch today, Saturday April 20, with a full grid on the Indy circuit. Former champion Rod Birley took the overall win in his Escort, chased hard by QMN class A rivals Dale Gent, Malcolm Wise and Alex Sidwell. The Cannons Tin Tops shared the track, and Chris Whiteman triumphed in their classes ahead of Glen Rossiter and Terry Searles.

QMN Reigning QMN champion Gavin Thomson was in class-winning form, finishing fifth overall. His nearest rival in last year's title chase, Ashley Hargreaves, crashed his car in qualifying and predicted a lengthy absence from the tracks as a result. In fact, heroic work by Ashley and his team saw him reach the grid just in time, but a dragging exhaust rather than the rapidly repaired front end resulted in a retirement for the Peugeot.

TinTops All rounds of the QMN and Tin Tops championships feature a pair of races, and more hectic action is expected in race two in front of a big Sunday crowd attracted by the heavyweight racing trucks contesting the British championship.

A packed programme will also feature two races for the South Eastern Centre's Quaife Intermarque Championship, which is drawing increasing support from the short track hot rod fraternity. A partially reversed grid for race two, similar to the format adopted by the British Touring Car Championship, will be a new feature for 2013.

Watch our website for a detailed race action report after the weekend.

Next Race Meeting:

See you in 2019

Latest Galleries:

Latest gallery BARC SEC TinTop Championship,
17th November 2018

Latest gallery BARC SEC Modified Saloon Car and TinTop Championship,
22nd September 2018

Latest gallery Scrapco Avon Intermarque Championship,
22nd September 2018

Last Race Results

Modified Saloon Car:

1. Rod Birley
2. Steve Rothery
3. Malcolm Wise
See full results


1. Kamran Tunio
2. Kevin Palmer
3. Steve Everson
See full results


1. Steve Burrows
2. CHris Brockhurst
3. Lewis Smith
See full results

2018 Championship Winners (Provisional):

BARC SEC Modified Saloon Car:

Adrian Bradley
See full standings


Rikki Taylor
See full standings

Scrapco / Avon Intermarque:

Lewis Smith
See full standings