BARC SEC Photo of the day


BOSS Racing Ad

Davies Unstoppable Again at Brands Hatch

By Chris Bassett

TinTops T2 driver Barnaby Davies in his Toyota Starlet was again unstoppable at the annual Brands hatch GP event after a flawless drive which also saw him mixing high up the order with the QMN cars.

Davies, starting first out of the tin top drivers in the combined race with QMN, lead going into the first lap followed by Terry Searles in his MG ZR (T3) who made a good start from 4th in the tin tops to pass Kenny Coleman in his Honda Civic Type R (T2) and Cliff Pellin in his Fiesta ST (T3), followed by Oliver Davies in a Renault 5 GT Turbo (T2) and Vic Hope in the other Honda Civic Type R (T3).

TinTops Peter Osbourne in his Renault Clio (TP) was chased hard by championship leader Neal Gardiner in a Rover Metro (T4), Dominic Ryan in a Ford Fiesta (T4), Daniel Adams, who was making his first appearance in a Proton Satria (TP), Robert Taylor in a Ford Fiesta (T4) and Kieron Lehane in a Citeron Saxo (T4). Tom Bridger in his Rover Tomcat (T1) had by this time crawled to last having had technical issues which forced him to retire.

By the end of lap two Davies (Barnaby) had already pulled out a commanding lead from Coleman and Pellin, who had both passed Searles who was comfortable in 4th, followed by Davies (Oliver) and Hope, before another gap back to Osbourne, Gardiner and the chasing trio of Ryan, Adams and Taylor. Lehane, by this point, was further back from this group after suffering from problems with his brakes. Gardiner managed another 5 laps before retiring, leaving Osbourne to concentrate on his own race and try to close the gap to Hope.

TinTops Davies (Barnaby) got stronger and stronger as the laps progressed to eventually build an unassailable 20-plus-second margin ahead of Coleman who himself had built up a 5 second gap from Pellin, before running wide and into the gravel, allowing Pellin to get closer before increasing the gap once again, finishing 2 seconds ahead by the end of the race.

Searles had a largely uneventful race to finish 4th, 20 seconds ahead of Davies (Oliver) infront of Championship hopeful Hope, who built up a gap of 10 seconds back to Osbourne.

Osbourne, who himself had built a comfortable gap of nearly 20 seconds back to Ryan, finished 2 seconds ahead of Adams, who was having a good maiden race, ahead of Taylor with Lehane, who was unable to close the gap to the gaggle of cars in front of him.

And so it finished – largely uneventful with large gaps between each class. Dominic Ryan was awarded the Mark Fish award.

Next Race Meeting:

See you in 2019

Latest Galleries:

Latest gallery BARC SEC TinTop Championship,
17th November 2018

Latest gallery BARC SEC Modified Saloon Car and TinTop Championship,
22nd September 2018

Latest gallery Scrapco Avon Intermarque Championship,
22nd September 2018

Last Race Results

Modified Saloon Car:

1. Rod Birley
2. Steve Rothery
3. Malcolm Wise
See full results


1. Kamran Tunio
2. Kevin Palmer
3. Steve Everson
See full results


1. Steve Burrows
2. CHris Brockhurst
3. Lewis Smith
See full results

2018 Championship Winners (Provisional):

BARC SEC Modified Saloon Car:

Adrian Bradley
See full standings


Rikki Taylor
See full standings

Scrapco / Avon Intermarque:

Lewis Smith
See full standings